BCAWA Silver Pin Award Nomination

The Silver Pin is award is to recognize those who have made substantial contributions in furthering home winemaking through service, participation, and support.

Nominations are in either of two categories.

Regular Pin Award

This award is for Individuals who belong to a member club and qualify by their service, participation, support not only to their home club but by direct involvement with other home-winemaking organizations. These qualifications are defined as follows:

Service: Club executive or committees

BCAWA or AWC Club delegate

BCAWA or AWC executive or committees

Participation: Attends club meetings, BCAWA meetings, participates in forums or programs outside the home club

(speaker, etc.)

Supports: Home club functions

Other member club functions BCAWA and AWC functions

By personal attendance, entering wines, judging, stewarding, etc.

(Note: It is expected that while a candidate may not have accomplished all the above, the range of his/her

contribution should be exceptionally well rounded.)

Special Pin Award

This award is for an individual or organization; who, while not necessarily a club member, has actively supported BCAWA and the activities of the home-winemaker over an extended period of time by providing services, information, hospitality; a "friend" of BCAWA. To date, Special Pins have been awarded to:

John Parducci -- Parducci Wine Cellars, California The Grapevine -- Editor, Tom Robinson Sr. Ron Taylor -- Andres Wines, Spagnol's John Armstrong -- Founder of AWC and AWO Lyle Sproule -- Spagnols - Wine making supplier

Nominations:

Nominations will be accepted from the any individual who is a member in good standing of a member club.

Approval

Nominations received by 1 April will be sent to those past recipients of the Silver Pin who remain active within BCAWA. Their replies will be sent to the BCAWA Secretary in a provided envelope. Those envelopes received by the Secretary by the date of the Provincial Competition will be opened by the BCAWA Executive during the afternoon of the Provincial. If 75% or more affirmative votes have been received, the award will be made during the evening ceremonies. (Abstentions will be counted as affirmative votes.)

Pin Recipients to date (May 2018)

1977	Lou Curnick	1983	Sal Robinson	1997	Jack Ziebart	2012	Robin McNeil
1978	Charles Plant	1986	Murray Mackie	1998	Clem Joyce	2017	Axel Kroitsch
1978	Marg Fairholm	1987	Dave Ritchie	2001	Dawn Engman	2017	Brian Gilhooly
1978	Tom Robinson Sr.	1988	Malcom Faviell	2001	Frank Morwood-Clark	2018	Rick Homer
1978	Cam McLean	1992	Jock Fairholm	2001	Helmut Berner	2018	John McMaster
1978	Joan Collings	1992	Sonia Garlinge	2003	George Gibson	2019	Dave Burt
1979	Bill Collings	1994	Ted Underhill	2003	John Matkovich	2024	Mike Leeper
1980	Margaret Kerry	1997	Jack Kouwenhoven	2008	Mike Roman		
1983	Ginger Bacchus	1997	Tony Pearson	2012	Colin Nicolson		

NOMINATION FOR THE SILVER PIN AWARD I nominate: of club: The above nominee has served BCAWA and AWC as: The nominee has participated in inter-club meetings, BCAWA/AWC Council, forums, and programs as: ______ Attach a separate page detailing the service, participation, and support this nominee has contributed in furthering home winemaking Nominated by (print): I am a member of club: _____ Signature: __ Nominations may be made throughout the year. The completed form must be in the hands of the BCAWA Secretary no later than 1

April for the award to be presented in the current year.

For the Special Silver Pin award submit a written nomination.

Do not write in this space. For Sliver Pin holders only.					
□ Yes	□ No				